top of page
  • Writer's pictureMariah

Australia - End Of It All

April 3, 2018

To move, to breathe, to fly, to float, To gain while you give, To roam the roads of lands remote: To travel is to live - Hans Christian Andersen


PORTLAND To TORQUEY

DAYS 11-12: We left the picturesque cottage in Barossa Valley & began the other half of our road trip to Portland. We drove 6 hours from Barossa to Portland. Alex and I may have not done anything grand in Portland, but all the small stops along the way is what I remember most. We found this adorable coffee shop, the image on my slideshow, that was designed with so much character. Dark & lite wood compliments, unique chandeliers, the vintage style light bulb lights, and the small section of delicate Christmas gifts made the feeling of this coffee shop so homey. I remember this place most because I found a world map I really wanted to buy to hang up in my apartment, but Alex wanted to be on the search for an Australia map where he would post pictures of what we did at each point of our road trip. I am all about sentimental gifts so this moment/idea really touched my heart. Once we found our camping spot in Portland we, of course, had to go fishing & then found the most random fish & chips, hole in the wall, to-go spot with seriously good food. We ate at our little pop up table next to our UTE camping set-up and just enjoyed each other's company. We were tired this day and got a little goofy by feeding the birds & may have been talking to them...not our proudest moment, but when you can be silly with another person it makes the experience that much more memorable ;)

DAY 13: Today was one of our days off of driving. We got to spend some time with Jake, Alana & Sean, which are Alex's really good friends. The guys spent a few hours surfing, Alana went for a run (that wasn't going to happen for me ;) ) so I got a solid tan on the gorgeous beach. We all had lunch at Mobi in Torquey & it was delicious! Highly recommend & its right along the beach. Very cute location. That night Sean had us over for a reallyyyyy good BBQ. Alex has such amazing friends and I'm happy I got to meet a few of them!


QUEENSCLIFF To SORENTO

Day 14 - This was my first experience on a ferry! It was the shortest ride ever skipping over Melbourne and taking a break from driving. We then got back in to the UTE and made our way to Somers General Store Café where we met up for a couple hours with one of Alex's good mates, Luke. If you are near Brighton Beach I would recommend seeing the colorful huts! All of them are so unique, bright, flawed & special to someone who owns them. Getting deep on this one, but walking up and down the row of these huts I could picture which one of my family members & friends each would belong too. I had to take a picture in front of the brightest one because it felt like me on this whole trip! I was staying positive, vibrant, and excited for what was to come the next day. Or for the hope of what Alex & I could be after all this. Slowly I started to learn that 'hope' would be a dangerous word to me.

Days 15-17 - Entered New South Wales. Stopped at Grumpy Girl Café for coffee, smoothie & cakes in Merimbula. On our way to Narooma to spend the weekend with Alex's mom. I just have to say, Alex's parents have done so well for themselves. Their gorgeous home was located on the corner of the street with the ocean view right out their front window. Every morning we would take our morning coffee's out to their 2nd floor patio that wrapped around the side. You could feel & smell the fresh salt water air on your skin. It was such a peaceful and stunning location in Narooma. One of my first mornings I got to go Dragon Boating with his mom. This was quite the experience. I learned a few things from some very competitive, older women, rowers...I'm hoping that's the correct term. We were in this giant 20 passenger canoe that, well, looked like a dragon floating on Forster's Bay. I was told that a couple weeks ago 2 sharks were fighting over some bait in the bay. A small part of me was wanting to see some action happen, but with how easily we could tip...I was very happy no creature was in sight. Alex spent most of his time surfing. He was very excited to be near water for a few days. His mom and I would go out on the beach with our glasses of wine & watch him. Her and I would talk about him. How she felt bad for me having to be with him in a vehicle for 2 weeks straight. Every time I would just laugh it off and say 'its actually not that bad' and how much fun we were having. I told her how much he means to me and how he has changed my life. A part of me wonders if what I was saying ever sunk in for her about how much I loved her son or if Alex convinced her enough we were 'just friends.' Maybe she told him what I said. Or maybe she just left it alone. Either way I'm happy I got off my chest how I felt about him & hopefully she saw that throughout the weekend. Later that day, the 3 of us went snorkeling in the, still, freezing cold water, but saw SO many fish and even a giant crayfish. We walked over to where a few men were cleaning off their fish and got to see these 5 giant stingrays swimming up to them for their scraps. The final morning in Narooma, Alex went for a surf and I went for a run. There really wasn't any where in Australia that wasn't pretty to run through & past so that's mostly why I did it because running is not my thing. Once I got back Alex was still out surfing. I stood on the beach watching and before I knew it Alex ran up to me and fireman carried me into the water. This moment was so memorable to me because it was JUST US. We got to splash around like little kids in the water at 9am, try to wave surf, dive around in the giant waves, and just had an awesome time in each other's company. Kissing every so often and just completely feeling free and like US.


WAGGA WAGGA

Days 18-28 - This is a lot of days grouped together, but I promise you this was the least eventful part of the trip anddddd definitely my least favorite. The two of us left his parents place in Narooma and made the 4 1/2 hour drive to Wagga Wagga. We did this drive on Snowy Mountain Highway and that was a very curvy road and Alex was NOT going to slow down ;) but it was a pretty drive as well. Once in Wagga, we picked up Alex's dog, Darcy, at the airport and that was a very happy reunion. In all honesty though, the rest of these 10 days I wish I wasn't there. It was painfully long because Alex was very focused on unpacking everything from the moving truck, and him going through his belongings from the past was just a complete blast, every bit of sarcasm included in that. So I was there to 'help' unpack, fold up boxes, go with grocery shopping, get stuff he needed for his place, go mattress shopping for 2 days :/ It was all so brutal. I got into my head A LOT during this time because I felt nonexistent, not important, bored out of my mind, etc. Alex is someone that when he has a task on his mind he has to do it right away. Doesn't matter if a guest is there from 9,000 miles away...a guest who means more to you than just a friend, but feels like dirt because she's getting zero attention. Darcy definitely got more, from both of us. I honestly wanted to change my flight and leave from there. We did get some fun floaties though and went on a river float & this was very fun, super relaxing, good to get out of the house and grab some rays & beers with my Aussie. Alex isn't big on celebrating Christmas...at least not the way I'm used too ;) We all 3 opened gifts, Alex got me something so him and Darcy weren't the only ones unwrapping presents. I annoyed the crap out of Alex with all my Christmas music & singing around the house, which I enjoyed. Then we had an incredible Christmas dinner and that was honestly as exciting as it got in Wagga Wagga.


THREE SISTERS

Days 29 & 30 - Mountains, mountains & more mountains!

We first started off driving to Bathurst. Here is where Alex grew up. We saw where his home was, the fence that a snake was wrapped around & he was too scared to open it, school he attended, where the friend lived that he first got drunk with, etc. Now, any normal human mind would think going through all of these memories with someone labeled a 'friend' would be more than a friend. I was so excited to go through this mans past of where he grew up and see the famous track, Mount Panorama Circuit, where a race is held each year, but where anyone can drive on for fun. All these things got my mind racing and thinking 'ok, maybe he sees a potential future too.' I, personally, wouldn't take my friends through this in depth of a tour. After a long week in Wagga Wagga where I felt slightly disconnected from him...it was good to have these positive thoughts come back.

NOW, back to the mountains! Alex gave me the option of beach or mountains & since we were ending our trip by the ocean I definitely wanted to view the Blue Mountains. It was so exciting to check things off of my 'must see in Australia' bucket list and driving through the Blue Mountains and then seeing The Three Sisters towering over the Jamison Valley was gorgeous and something I got to check off. There was even a restaurant/bar with an outdoor patio for any one to continue gazing at the incredible view. After this, we roughed it and went to an open camp ground. We stopped to get some snacks & this is where I got some birthday candles for Alex's 26th coming up. I wanted to celebrate with him because I wouldn't be there for the actual day. At the camp site, it was very buggy, sweaty & sleeping in the back of the UTE without the pop up was SO warm. We watched a couple movies to pass the time. Luckily, I got to be on the outside where I could lean my body against the cold steel of the UTE & slept like a log. Until it started pouring rain on me. I think Alex and I experienced every camping experience on this trip & once again...I wouldn't change a thing.


BONDI BEACH/SYDNEY

Days 31-33 - Hands down the best part of the trip! I could have spent an extra week just at Bondi Beach. There are SO many shops, restaurants & bars that line the beach. We only hit a handful. The absolute, most incredible, out of my comfort zone, intense (to me), experience was my birthday present from Alex...surfing lessons on Bondi! The wetsuits they had us wear were hideous, but I had the best time. I was put into the 'advanced' group just because I have been skiing before....uhh yeah 2 completely different experiences. Alex has been surfing for a few years, but did this lesson with me. He was so great in helping me out, but stepping back when the instructor would bring me over to him. I did get swept up in a wave twice, back to back, and wanted to crap my pants and walk out of the water haha so scary and it was just a small to medium sized wave too! I really had a lot of fun and stood up/rode the wave 3 times. Every one part of the lesson was super cool & just as lost as me. I couldn't have asked for a better present! Afterwards, we went back to our hotel to nap and got dressed and ready to spend the day drinking at the bars along the beach. This was a day Alex and I just had...fun. He threw out a serious convo once, but we just enjoyed each other's company. Drank & ate fish tacos at a tourist packed bar where I met a bartender from Rochester, MN! Out of all the places he was from Minnesota. He made the smart move of moving to Sydney, soaking up the sun & not missing all this snow.

The next day was New Years Eve! I was beyond excited for this day, but also, super bummed because it meant I had one more day after this with Alex. The morning was fun getting up, getting dolled up & just looking super cute together. We took the short ride on the subway to Sydney from our hotel. My dream location that I was finally going to experience with one of my best friends...life couldn't have been better. While in Wagga Wagga we purchased last minute tickets to Harbour Hoopla. We were not sure what to expect. We knew it was going to be circus themed, but not sure what the age ranges were going to be. Since we got there early in the afternoon & gates didn't open until 5-6pm we walked around downtown Sydney. To our surprise, NO bars were open:/ We honestly walked around the city for 45 mins looking for a place to grab a drink. When we did find one, it was the cutest little place & had one small table left. We grabbed a couple beers & pretty much sat staring at each other and smiling the whole time like a sappy couple. A man came up to us, and I will never forget what he said, "I had to come over because you two just look so happy! Can I ask what your plans are for tonight?" I was extremely happy in that moment. I didn't think anything stood between the two of us ending up together in the end, BUT back to New Years Eve. We could tell this American man was traveling alone and looking for some friends. He was so kind and if we didn't buy tickets he probably could have hung out with us. A little elderly lady was sitting at the bar rail and looked back at us and did the whole hand on heart, you two look so in love look and mouthed to us "you two are so cute." I felt on top of the world, and not just in appearance, but with Alex. After sitting there for about an hour and a half we decided to make our way to the gates of the Harbour Hoopla. There was a long line already, but the fun part were the circus performers going up and down the line entertaining you as you wait for the line to move. Walking through the gates you coud tell the event was directed towards families, but there were a lot of people our age, which made us feel a million times better. Alex and I took a bazillion pictures, found the perfect spot to lay down our blanket, enjoyed the awesome food provided, and for the next couple hours polished off 2 bottles of wine while enjoying the music being played overhead & the concert going on down by the Opera House. As it got darker, the boats going back and forth under the Sydney Harbour Bridge LIT UP and the kids light show began going off around 9pm. This was awesome! Light displays went off of sea creatures coming out of this strip set up in front of the bridge! This got us both amped for the big show at midnight. After taking short little naps (because we are too old to stay up the whole time ;) ) we had a half hour before midnight. It was chilly but with Alex's arms around me I was perfect. I just kept thinking how lucky I was to be there. In Sydney, on New Years, in front of the famous Harbour Bridge with a man who made me feel like a million bucks. The countdown began on the pillars of the bridge. Alex was getting all giddy telling me to get ready and turn around so he could kiss me at midnight. I couldn't stop laughing and telling him I didn't want to miss anything from the bridge though! 5 seconds left...he grabbed me around the waist and then other hand on my face and gave me the best New Years kiss I have ever received. I don't want to get too sappy, but it might have been the best kiss from him. This day/night were completely perfect & I think he would agree it was one of his favorite New Years too. I swear it all felt like a dream because before I knew it we were standing up, grabbing all our stuff and trying to beat the crowd as best as we could to get on the subway again back to the hotel.

(Ignore a couple blurry pictures below. They were just too cute to not put up!)


BONDI ICEBERGS

FINAL DAY - Today was all about exploring. We went on a hike around Tamarama Beach. The rock formations, different beaches & crazy expensive looking houses along with gorgeous weather made it for an amazing last day with Alex. We found this hidden 2nd floor restaurant/bar and the theme of it had a greenery/fresh feel & sense. We enjoyed a pumpkin spinach flatbread that was honestly the best flatbread I have ever had. We then went back to our hotel to freshen up and get dressed nice for the last time. All those pictures you see on Instagram posts about travel or most beautiful place to go too...yes, we went there! We grabbed a bottle of wine at Bondi Icebergs Club. It is just as beautiful as the images looked. Ocean spread out for miles in front of you, beach jam packed with tourists in the distance & pool in front of you leaning against the ocean rocks. I could have sat there for hours. We even had a plane doing tricks right in front of us! It was a very picturesque moment. We ended our day with a jam packed small restaurant with the best grilled salmon & sweet potato fries ever.

Overall, I could not have asked for a better month in Australia! I got to experience what most people dream of and in such a unique way of road tripping from the West coast to the East. Alex was a great tour guide and had this trip planned and well thought out. Everything was truly perfect! I love him for that. Him knowing that Australia was my #1 on the bucket list so he made sure it was jam packed with things he knew I shouldn't miss out on. Lots of props and love to him for that!! To everyone reading this post...don't miss out on any adventures that come your way. Even if it ends in heart break you will remember all the amazing times & gorgeous places you visit.

Going to the airport the next morning was one of the hardest things I have experienced. I didn't want to pack because I knew deep down I wasn't going to see him again. Whenever I said that he would respond with 'get your head out of your ass,' but in a nice Australian tone ;) He waited in line with me at the airport to check in my luggage. Holding each other the whole time. My tears welling up, but hiding it all through a smile. When it came time for me to walk through customs I didn't want to let him go. Because it wasn't just him I was letting go, it was the memories, deployment, the great Australian road trip, the fact I probably won't make it back to this beautiful place because it will remind me of him. Alex got his coffee right next to the gate. I started bawling. He told me 'we said no tears.' We hugged for what seemed like a long time & I looked up at him and said "I love you best friend." He smiled and said "I love you too."


FINAL THOUGHTS…

This trip ended how I expected, but not what I was hoping for. Getting home is where it got difficult, but that is life. You have to learn to adjust and move on. Moving on is the hardest part for me and not what I wanted at all. I know feelings are still there for both of us. But ONE of us has a hard time admitting it. It took me a month to write one post, but this isn't just any post. This contained a ton of emotional ups & downs. I never realized how much can happen in 3 months until I was thrown into life after a once in a lifetime trip with a man whom I thought forever was in the near future. Alex is 9,000 miles away, but still had such a grip on my heart. I'm not sure if anyone that is reading this post is going through something similar, but damn its hard. I have been praying day & night to just let go. I know Alex and I will always be there for each other as friends but I can't put my love life on hold for 'what if.' This trip contained SO many life lessons for me, but the biggest was to FALL IN LOVE! Not just with a man, but with life, YOUR life. Fall in love with adventure. Take risks. Alex was my biggest risk, but do I regret anything? Not a single second.



36 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page